Comet was named after the Comet River that runs close to the township. The river itself was named by German explorer and naturalist Ludwig Leichhardt during his first expedition through Central Queensland after observing Comet Wilmot in the western sky in December 1844.
Things to Experience
Comet Tales and Walking Trails Take a self-guided walk around the township, stopping at 16 historical sites. Map and historic information here.
Dig Tree View the Coolibah tree trunk that Ludwig Leichhardt marked with DIG L and a downward arrow during his second exploration of the region in 1847. DIG L indicated to those who followed that he had buried a powder canister under the tree containing letters and journals.
The marked area of the tree was later removed and is housed in a purpose-built display in Comet.
Comet Railway Station Located at Whistle Stop Park, the old Comet Railway Station houses a display of local memorabilia, including old photographs and heritage railway bridge plans.
Fishing Drop a line into the Comet River under the railway bridge, at the Comet Weir or in the Mackenzie River at Riley’s Crossing.
Historic Comet Cemetery Take a drive to the historic Comet Cemetery and contemplate what may have caused the deaths of 73 people between 1877 and 1879.
Comet Free Library Launched by the local community in late 2021, this bright red cupboard sits in Whistle Stop Park and is brimming with books. Take a book, leave a book!
Point of Interest: Click here to learn about the Maria Creek Bore, which is a story of a giant natural soda bottle and how coal exploration resulted in the world’s best scones.
Point of Interest: Empty beer bottles were used in the structure of the railway bridge built in 1914. They were discovered in 2005 when the bridge was reconstructed.